Quick enquiry
  • Wolves event 17

Scotland football celebrates world championship success

Scotland win Homeless World Cup for a second time, Kenya are champions of women's tournament.

28 August 2011, Scotland has won the Paris 2011 Homeless World Cup, the world-class international football tournament beating homelessness.

The Scots beat Mexico 4-3 in front of hundreds of spectators to win the Homeless World Cup for the second time.
Kenya were crowned the champions of the Paris 2011 Women's Homeless World Cup after they defeated Mexico 4-3 in an enthralling final.

Over 300 street soccer matches have been played, by 64 national teams of homeless players participating on the Champs de Mars, Paris, France this week.

Mel Young, President, Homeless World Cup said: "Con­gra­tula­ti­ons to Scotland and Kenya on becoming champions at the Homeless World Cup. We have seen some astounding football here in Paris.

"It is the players and managers of the national teams that have made this a fantastic tournament. Thank you. It is your spirit and determination that is changing the world. Your emerging leadership is destroying the stereotype and stigma of homelessness and creating real and lasting change around the world."

Now the tournament is officially closed the baton is handed to beaten finalists Mexico for the Mexico City 2012 Homeless World Cup.

Beating homelessness through football, the Homeless World Cup is a unique, pioneering social enterprise which exists to end homelessness by using football to energise homeless people to change their own lives.

The Homeless World Cup inspires national grass roots football projects and engages over 50,000 homeless players a year to change their lives: over 70% change for the better.

The Homeless World Cup is supported by Nike, Fundacion Telmex, UEFA, global ambassador Eric Cantona, international footballers Didier Drogba and Rio Ferdinand.

For more information visit: www.­ho­mel­es­swo­rl­dcup.­org.

Web design by Brick technology Ltd.