Quick enquiry
  • Mitre June 17

Finalists Named for Northwest Football Awards

Fans of all Northwest clubs have responded by voting in their thousands for their chosen Footballer of the Year and Rising Star, as the shortlists whittled down to three finalists for each award; with one to be announced as the winner at this year’s Northwest Football Awards.

The five names shortlisted for the Manager of the Year Award have also been announced, with managers at all levels represented in the list.

After guiding Manchester City to the Premier League title, it’s perhaps no surprise that Blues boss Roberto Mancini is listed as a finalist for Manager of the Year; however he faces tough competition from Everton manager David Moyes, Roberto Martinez of Wigan Athletic, Crewe boss Steve Davis and Carlisle United’s Greg Abbott.

The Manager of the Year Award has been shortlisted by an expert panel, which consists of managers and former managers, including Joe Royle, Peter Reid, Brian Horton and Sven-Goran Eriksson.

It’s an intriguing contest for the Premier League Player of the Year Award, with the Battle of Manchester continuing. City captain Vincent Kompany is up against Manchester United’s Antonio Valencia, with Liverpool defender Martin Skrtel the third name shortlisted as a finalist.

In the Championship, it’s Blackpool versus Burnley, as Alex Baptiste goes up against former Clarets striker Jay Rodriguez.

Former Tranmere Rovers defender David Buchanan, Carlisle United striker Lee Miller and Kieran Lee, formerly of Oldham Athletic are the players shortlisted for the League One Player of the Year Award, whilst Padraig Amond of Accrington Stanley, Morecambe’s Chris McCready and former Crewe Alexandra midfielder Nick Powell are the names up for the League Two accolade.

The Conference Player of the Year is a three-way contest between Stockport County midfielder Joe Connor, Damian Reeves of Altrincham and Vauxhall Motors’ Tom Hannigan.

Finally, the Rising Star Award is a tightly contested battle between some of the country’s most talented youngsters. Everton’s Apostolos Vellios, Martin Kelly of Liverpool, Nick Powell – formerly of Crewe Alexandra, Blackpool’s Thomas Ince and Manchester United’s Norwegian midfielder Mats Møller Dæhli are all up for the prestigious accolades.

And as a big thank you to fans….

The Northwest Football Awards Gala Dinner is almost here and we've been inundated with requests from regular fans wanting to attend the event. Some of the clubs have asked us if there's anything we can do to make the tickets cheaper for regular fans.

To reward the fans for your support and votes, we are offering you the chance to attend and mingle with the stars on the evening by introducing a discounted fan rate.

There are only a certain amount of tickets available, so to secure your place and rub shoulders with your heroes, call 0161 831 0260.

Established five years ago, The Northwest Football Awards celebrates the achievements of the region’s 23 professional clubs, including the likes of Manchester United, Manchester City, Liverpool and Everton, with attendees such as Sir Alex Ferguson, Sir Bobby Charlton, Sir Tom Finney, Joe Royle and Jimmy Armfield CBE.

The 2012 Northwest Football Awards, which will be hosted by BBC sports reporter Dan Walker, are taking place at The Point, Lancashire County Cricket Club on Monday 12th November, with awards for each division’s top manager and player being voted for by the public and the corporate awards being judged by a panel of experts.

Special categories on the night will honour the Northwest Football Journalist of the Year, Manager of the Year, Goal of the Year, as well as a Lifetime Contribution to Northwest Football and an Unsung Hero Award.

The focus of each of the other club awards, which include Community Initiative of the Year and Best Youth Development Programme, is on sustained quality, best use of resources and of people with knowledge, expertise and experience.

Professional clubs based in the Blue Square Premier League and above can nominate themselves for certain awards whilst nominations of organisations or people can extend beyond clubs to sponsors and partners.

For more information on the Northwest Football Awards, or to book tickets, please visit www.­nort­hwes­tfo­ot­bal­law­ards.­com.


Web design by Brick technology Ltd.