Football Trade Directory

Brighton earn Womens Super League Licence


Brighton will join the top tier of English women's football in 2018-19 and become a full-time, professional club, after their licence application was accepted.

Yeovil Town retained top-flight status, along with the eight other Women's Super League One clubs who applied.

That ensures 10 clubs of a place in WSL 1 as part of the league's restructure, but that number may rise to up to 14.

Any team that wanted to play in the top tier had to meet new professional criteria, including running a youth academy.

With a total of 14 top-tier slots available, clubs from outside the WSL will be invited to bid for the four remaining spots before early March 2018.

There will also be up to five additional spots available in WSL 2, after seven sides successfully retained their second-tier status, with a maximum of 12 places in next season's second division.

The following teams have been awarded licences for the top two tiers next term:

  • Tier One: Arsenal, Birmingham City, Brighton & Hove Albion, Bristol City, Chelsea Ladies, Everton Ladies, Liverpool Ladies, Manchester City, Reading Women, Yeovil Town.
  • Tier Two: Aston Villa, Doncaster Rovers Belles, Durham, London Bees, Millwall Lionesses, Sheffield FC Ladies, Tottenham Hotspur.

The Football Association said that all of the clubs were offered a place in the tier for which they applied.


Posted in Club news and tagged Brighton & Hove Albion Women, Super League, Womens Football on