Chelsea forward Diego Costa loses appeal against FA charge and will serve three match ban
"The Chelsea forward had denied the charge in relation to an on-field incident involving Liverpool’s Emre Can which occurred in the 12th minute of the League Cup semi-final second leg at Stamford Bridge on Tuesday 27 January 2015."
"The incident was not seen by the match officials but caught on video."
Costa was also involved in another stamping incident during the match with Martin Skrtel, though the FA judged that to be accidental.
Chelsea won the second leg tie 1-0 after extra time to progress to the League Cup final, but with their immediate attention now trained on their clash with title rivals City, Jose Mourinho will know that City will get a big boost from Costa's absence.
Whilst it was his tenacity and aggression that has ultimately brought about the ban, it was those qualities that also made him so influential against Liverpool, even though he didn't score the decisive goal.
With midfield maestro Cesc Fabregas also a doubt for the match after picking up against Liverpool, Mourinho's side will look a less threatening proposition to the Champions.