Football Trade Directory

EFL announce record season ticket sales

The EFL has announced that there are more than 500,000 season ticket holders across EFL clubs for the first time in living memory.

Figures show an increased interest for live football outside the Premier League. It is also shows the decision by clubs to focus on concessionary and family ticket options is being warmly greeted by fans. 

The Championship has the largest share of season ticket holders with 326,000 season ticket holders, whilst League 1 has 117,000 season ticket holders and 59,000 in League 2. 

Since 2007 season ticket sales have increased by 26% from 398,390 to 502,826 this season.

In addition, to the increased season ticket sales the cost of a matchday ticket is decreasing.

Data submitted to the EFL reveals that the average admission price received by clubs in all three divisions was £13.11 per supporter, a decrease from £14.08 for the 2014/15 season.

EFL clubs are also providing more flexible pricing options for concessions and family tickets, by offering heavily discounted prices for youngsters. Over 50 clubs have tickets available for £5 or less, while a further 15 teams from League 1 and League 2 allow free entry for some fans.

This kind of innovative thinking that is enabling the EFL to thrive says Shaun Harvey, the EFL CEO “It is testament to the dedication and innovative approach clubs are taking to recruit season ticket holders that we are able to celebrate this collective landmark for the EFL.

“It’s particularly pleasing to see so many new ideas being implemented to encourage families to attend and ensure that kids are given a taste of live EFL football at an early age – an experience and a thrill that we hope will stay with them for a lifetime.”


Sky Bet Championship

1. Newcastle United
2. Derby County
3. Brighton & Hove Albion
4. Norwich City
5. Sheffield Wednesday
Sky Bet League One

1. Bradford City
2. Sheffield United
3. Bolton Wanderers
4. Milton Keynes Dons
5. Charlton Athletic
Sky Bet League Two

1. Portsmouth
2. Luton Town
3. Plymouth Argyle
4. Leyton Orient
5. Hartlepool United


Posted on