Football Trade Directory

England Squad announced for June qualifiers with Eze receiving first call up

Gareth Southgate has named his latest England squad to face Malta and North Macedonia next month, with Crystal Palace's Eberechi Eze joining up with the squad for the first time.

Eze was set to be considered for Southgate's Euro 2020 squad before suffering a serious Achilles injury which saw him out of action for some time.

Fellow Palace man Marc Guehi has been recalled with the squad largely built up of regular England squad members, with the likes of Harry Maguire and Kalvin Phillips called up despite their lack of game time for their clubs.

The biggest omission is Chelsea's Raheem Sterling, who told Southgate he wanted to focus on regaining his physical fitness after struggling with a hamstring issue.

Here is the squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Sam Johnstone (Crystal Palace), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Lewis Dunk (Brighton & Hove Albion), Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle United), Kyle Walker (Manchester City)

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Eberechi Eze (Crystal Palace), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Kalvin Phillips (Manchester City), Declan Rice (West Ham United)

Forwards: Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), James Maddison (Leicester City), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Callum Wilson (Newcastle United)

Posted in Club news on