Football Trade Directory

Europa League: Everton drawn with Lille and Wolfsburg, whilst Tottenham will face Besiktas

As featured on NewsNow: Football news    eNewsletter

The Europa League Group Stage Draw was made this afternoon, with Everton, Tottenham and Celtic the three British sides involved.

FA Cup finalists Hull could have been in today's draw were it not for an agonising away goal which put them out last night in their final qualifier.

For Tottenham, their biggest challenge will be Turkish outfit Besiktas, who only this week ran Spurs' rivals Arsenal close in the final Champions league qualification round, before being beaten 1-0.

Mauricio Pochettino's men will also take on Serbian side Partizan Belgrade and Greek outfit Asteras Tripolis after making it through the final qualifying round on Thursday with a convincing win.

Everton, who finished fifth in the league last season, gained direct qualification for the group stage, however their lack of european football in recent years meant they found themselves in the third seeding pot. That seeding proved costly as they were drawn with French side Lille and German outfit Wolfsburg.

They will however be pleased with drawing Russian minnows FC Krasnodar.

Scottish champions Celtic, who failed in two attempts to qualify for the Champions League, will face FC Salzburg, Dinamo Zagreb and Romanian side FC Astra in what could be a tricky group for Ronny Deila's evolving team.

The full draw is listed below. The top two sides from each group will go through to the knockouts, and will be joined by the eight sides who finish third the the Champions League groups.

Group A: Villarreal (Esp), Borussia Monchengladbach (Ger), FC Zurich (Sui), Apollon Limassol (Cyp)

Group B: FC Copenhagen (Den), Club Brugge (Bel), Torino (Ita), HJK Helsinki (Fin)

Group C: Tottenham (Eng), Besiktas (Tur), Partizan Belgrade (Srb), Asteras Tripolis (Gre)

Group D: FC Salzburg (Aut), Celtic (Sco), Dinamo Zagreb (Cro), FC Astra (Rou)

Group E: PSV Eindhoven (Ned), Panathinaikos (Gre), Estoril (Por), Dinamo Moscow (Rus)

Group F: Inter Milan (Ita), FC Dnipro (Ukr), Saint-Etienne (Fra), Qarabag FK (Aze)

Group G: Sevilla (Esp), Standard Liege (Bel), Feyenoord (Ned), HNK Rijeka (Cro)

Group H: Lille (Fra), Wolfsburg (Ger), Everton (Eng), FC Krasnodar (Rus)

Group I: Napoli (Ita), Sparta Prague (Cze), Young Boys (Sui), Slovan Bratislava (Svk)

Group J: Dynamo Kiev (Ukr), Steaua Bucharest (Rou), Rio Ave (Por), Aalborg (Den)

Group K: Fiorentina (Ita), PAOK (Gre), Guingamp (Fra), Dinamo Minsk (Blr)

Group L: Metalist Kharkiv (Ukr), Trabzonspor (Tur), Legia Warsaw (Pol), Lokeren (Bel)

Posted on