Football Trade Directory

Four more directors leave Chesterfield

A further four directors have resigned at Chesterfield. The news comes days after former chairman and director, Dave Allen, resigned last Monday.

Vice-chairman David Jones, Alan Goodall, Philip Taylor and Chris Breeze are the directors who have left the League 1 side. This means that only club secretary Ashley Carson, Mike Warner and John Croot are left on the Chesterfield board.

 A club statement said "It has been confirmed that David Jones, Chris Breeze, Philip Taylor and Alan Goodall have all today resigned as directors of the club."

Allen resigning as chairman and director on Monday, came as a shock to the club. His resignation came after two other shareholders refused his request to write-off interest on their loans indefinitely.

The board held emergency talks on every day last week as concerns grew over their financial future.

He reportedly told the board he "could not carry on" and now wants to sell the club.


Posted on