Football Trade Directory

Premier League and Championship sides join the FA Cup hunt as Third Round draw looms


The FA Cup Third Round draw will be made this evening with the chance of playing at some of the biggest sides in the country is up for grabs.

Teams like Blyth Spartans, who a re the lowest ranked team still in the competition, will be crossing their fingers that they get a chance to play at famous grounds like Old Trafford or the Emirates.

For the teams remaining from Leagues One and Two, the mentality shifts from being the 'giants' of the competitions, to also hoping to get a glamour tie against on of the country's top teams.

Five teams from the Conference are still in the draw, with Chester and Aldershot facing a replay next week against Barnsley and Rochdale respectively.

Holders Arsenal, who won the competition last season for the first time in nine years, will be hoping they can emulate their previous run having made a rather uninspired start to the Premier League campaign.

Teams from the Championship will be looking at the Cup as a good chance to build momentum and a distraction from the intensity of England's second tier.

But most eyes will be on Blyth and their fellow minnows Dover Athletic and Worcester, the latter of which face a replay. For the majority of football fans, apart from their own club, the biggest excitement comes from watching one of those teams get drawn with one of football's giants.

The full numbers for the draw are below:

1. AFC Bournemouth

2. Arsenal

3. Aston Villa

4. Birmingham City

5. Blackburn Rovers

6. Blackpool

7. Bolton Wanderers

8. Brentford

9. Brighton & Hove Albion

10. Burnley

11. Cardiff City

12. Charlton Athletic

13. Chelsea

14. Crystal Palace

15. Derby County

16. Everton

17. Fulham

18. Huddersfield Town

19. Hull City

20. Ipswich Town

21. Leeds United

22. Leicester City

23. Liverpool

24. Manchester City

25. Manchester United

26. Middlesbrough

27. Millwall

28. Newcastle United

29. Norwich City

30. Nottingham Forest

31. Queens Park Rangers

32. Reading

33. Rotherham United

34. Sheffield Wednesday

35. Southampton

36. Stoke City

37. Sunderland

38. Swansea City

39. Tottenham Hotspur

40. Watford

41. West Bromwich Albion

42. West Ham United

43. Wigan Athletic

44. Wolverhampton Wanderers

45. Oxford United or Tranmere Rovers

46. Bury or Luton Town

47. Wrexham

48. Scunthorpe United or Worcester City

49. Colchester United

50. AFC Wimbledon

51. Accrington Stanley or Yeovil Town

52. Blyth Spartans

53. Chesterfield

54. Southport

55. Gateshead

56. Doncaster Rovers

57. Preston North End

58. Barnsley or Chester

59. Bradford City

60. Sheffield United

61. Dover Athletic

62. Cambridge United or Mansfield Town

63. Bristol City

64. Aldershot Town or Rochdale

Posted on