Premier League: Chelsea lose appeal against goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois' red card against Swansea
Chelsea's claim of wrongful dismissal regarding Thibaut Courtois' sendind off has been rejected, meaning his ban will be upheld.
An Independent Regulatory Commission hearing earlier today ruled that there was no grounds for wrongful dismissal.
The goalkeeper was dismissed for denying an obvious goal scoring opportunity in the 52nd minute of Chelsea's game against Swansea City at Stamford Bridge on Saturday (8 August 2015).
Therefore, the player's one-match suspension, which is the standard penalty for this offence, remains with immediate effect.
For a club to be successful with a claim of wrongful dismissal, it must prove to an Independent Regulatory Commission via written and/or video evidence that the match referee made an obvious error.
The Belgian was dismissed and conceded a penalty with his side 2-1 up at Stamford Bridge, and replacement keeper Asmir Begovic was unable to save the penalty with the score finishing 2-2