Football Trade Directory

Preston to host relegated Sheffield United in season opener

Relegated Premier League side Sheffield United will start the new Championship season with a trip to Preston on Friday, 9 August.

That is one of two games being played at 20:00 BST that evening, along with promoted Derby's trip to Blackburn.

Eight games kick off at 12:30 BST on Saturday, including beaten play-off finalists Leeds at home to promoted Portsmouth - with no games at 15:00 BST.

New Plymouth boss Wayne Rooney takes his side to Sheffield Wednesday on Sunday, 11 August and relegated duo Luton and Burnley meet at Kenilworth Road the following day.

All of the opening round of fixtures in all three divisions will be broadcast live on Sky Sports as part of their new £935m five-year deal with the EFL.

It means only games in League Two will kick-off at 15:00 BST on 10 August, with Saturday's League One fixtures starting at 17:30 BST.

​First round of fixtures in full

All 12:30 BST unless stated

Friday, 9 August

Blackburn Rovers v Derby County (20:00 BST)

Preston North End v Sheffield United (20:00 BST)

Saturday, 10 August

Cardiff City v Sunderland

Hull City v Bristol City

Leeds United v Portsmouth

Middlesbrough v Swansea City

Millwall v Watford

Oxford United v Norwich City

Queens Park Rangers v West Bromwich Albion

Stoke City v Coventry City

Sunday, 11 August

Sheffield Wednesday v Plymouth Argyle (16:00 BST)

Monday, 12 August

Luton Town v Burnley (20:00 BST)

Posted in Club news on