Football Trade Directory

Tottenham striker Harry Kane included in England U21s European Championship squad


Gareth Southgate has announced his initial 27 man squad for the upcoming 2015 U21s European Championships.

The squad includes several players who have made appearances for the senior national side, with the most notable being Spurs striker Harry Kane, who has scored 30 goals this season.

There are several notable absentees who were eligible for the squad, but are also regular members of Roy Hodgson's senior squad.

The likes of Raheem Sterling, Phil Jones, Luke Shaw, Alex Oxlade Chamberlain and Ross Barkley were all left out of the squad but Southgate defended his selection, saying "With the guys that have been up with Roy for a year, I don't feel it serves any purpose to bring them down into our squad."

Southgate will no doubt be looking at the form of his strikers, Saido Berahino, Danny Ings, Patrick Bamford and Kane, who have all reached double figures at least this season.


Marcus Bettinelli (Fulham), Jonathan Bond (Watford), Jack Butland (Stoke City)


Calum Chambers (Arsenal), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Luke Garbutt (Everton), Ben Gibson (Middlesbrough), Carl Jenkinson (Arsenal, on loan at West Ham United), Michael Keane (Burnley), Liam Moore (Leicester City), John Stones (Everton), Matt Targett (Southampton)


Tom Carroll (Tottenham Hotspur, on loan at Swansea City), Nathaniel Chalobah (Chelsea), Will Hughes (Derby County), Jake Forster-Caskey (Brighton & Hove Albion), Jesse Lingard (Manchester United), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Chelsea), Alex Pritchard (Tottenham Hotspur), Nathan Redmond (Norwich City), James Ward-Prowse (Southampton)


Benik Afobe (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Patrick Bamford (Chelsea, on loan at Middlesbrough), Saido Berahino (West Bromwich Albion), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Danny Ings (Burnley), Cauley Woodrow (Fulham)

The 27-man squad will be cut to 23 players by Uefa's deadline on 2 June.

Posted on